jump to navigation

Pat Robertson says what? August 4, 2006

Posted by j-dub in National, Politics.
trackback

This is my attempt at humor for a friday, please bear with me.

Well, it appears as if the heat finally got to Conservative Christian Broadcaster Pat Robertson of the 700 Club.

The heat has got him so out of sorts that he now believes in global warming…..here’s the story.

For those of you keeping score at home, Pat used to believe that human-caused global warming, DID NOT EXIST. But the recent heat wave made him rethink his position.

And I quote:

“We really need to address the burning of fossil fuels,” Robertson said on his “700 Club” broadcast. “It is getting hotter, and the icecaps are melting and there is a buildup of carbon dioxide in the air.”

AND

Robertson said that was “the most convincing evidence I’ve seen on global warming in a long time.”

So Pat, is it only considered global warming when it’s really, really, really, hot outside? Or, do you just not have a clue what you’re talking about?
I’m sorry if I’m picking on Pat Robertson, but I found this story somewhat amusing. I just didn’t know sweltering heat was the solution for non-believers to all of a sudden believe in global warming.

I bet the President is afraid to leave the A/C at the White House for fear of a revelation similar to Pat’s. I can hear him now “Condi, don’t let me leave the building. If you hear me start talking about global warming, and saving the earth’s atmosphere; rush me to the nearest air conditioned room.”

Well, like I said. A weak effort, but I’m easily amused…. 🙂

Comments»

1. Anonymous - August 5, 2006

That was cute and funny. I don’t trust PR to make sound judgments on either political or environmental concerns. He needs to stick with what he knows and that is preaching the Word. When he opens his mouth on issues other than that he opens the door for liberals to use him as the broad brush to paint the religious right. That doesn’t do anyone any good.

One thing that I have always had a question about is why are the ice sheets melting only in the Northern regions and not the Southern regions? And why are they melting when its 15 instead of 14 degrees? I think its much lower than that, but I’m trying to make a point. I mean well below freezing is well below freezing right? If I turn my deep freeze up 5 degrees my steaks still stay frozen and nothing shifts from the temp increase. Its a very simplistic example, but I am neither an expert in this nor entirely convinced when a lot scientists are still not on board with it. If the evidence is so conclusive as Gore says it is then why is there division within the scientific community? Just askin’.

2. j-dub - August 6, 2006

Ditto on Pat. Stick to what you do, and stay out of the papers.

Honestly, I bet the majority (90% or better) would agree that global warming is present. You’re never going to get all of the scientists to believe in anything. This would go against everything they are taught as scientists. They hypothesize, theorize, and question until they find any evidence to disprove something.

I’ve personally taken courses in environmental biology and it’s true that the average global temperatures continue to rise. I don’t think global warming is in question. I think the questions really arise when the scientists try to discern why it’s happening and what the effects wil be.

They have theories such as greenhouse gases, ozone layer depletion, other various forms of pollution, etc. Also, they cannot predict how organisms will react at a local or regional level. It’s really hard to say it’s going to be a problem when you don’t have a way to measure that accurately.

To me, thats where the confusion with this issue arises. However, I’m not an expert either.

You can go to http://www.noaa.gov/climate.html and read all sorts of data with relation to the global, national, and state climate.

3. j-dub - August 8, 2006

Here’s some more info on the latest heat wave:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20060807/ap_on_go_ot/hot_july


Leave a Reply

