jump to navigation

2006-2007 College Football – Week 2 September 8, 2006

Posted by j-dub in College Football, Sports.
trackback

This week’s marquee matchup is #1 Ohio State vs #2 Texas in Austin, Texas.  This is a rematch of last years great game which eventually led the Longhorns to the title game.   Last year, Texas won in Columbus and I think OSU pays them back this year.

Other than the Texas/OSU game, the week 2 schedule is pretty boring.  But here’s my games/picks.

Week 2 games:

Illinois at Rutgers
#19 Penn State at #4 Notre Dame
Minnesota at #22 California
#12 Georgia at South Carolina
#1 Ohio State at #2 Texas

My picks:

Illinois, Notre Dame, Minnesota, South Carolina, and Ohio State.

Comments»

1. Ryan Doherty - September 8, 2006

I like the Gamecocks’ pick, its gutsy but they are probably going to suprise some people this year. I’m not saying they’ll win the SEC East or anything but they play tough at home and Spurrier always gets up for a game against a team ranked higher than his. Georgia also has some questions at QB so South Carolina’s defense might end up being the difference.

2. j-dub - September 10, 2006

Yeah, I was hoping the Gamecocks would pull the upset; but their offense was non-existent.

A quick recap:

Illinois was pounded by Rutgers, Notre Dame torched Penn State, Cal blasted Minnesota, Georgia shutout South Carolina, and THE Ohio State University beat Texas.

I was 2-4 this week. Pretty crappy, but I had a few upsets picked that never developed.

3. j-dub - September 10, 2006

All those Notre Dame haters aren’t talking too much crap this week. I might have to rethink my pick for the winner of the big ten. OSU dominated the Longhorns and Smith is looking outstanding so far.

I can only wonder who the national champ would have been last year if Jim Tressel would have played Smith exclusively last year; instead of the split quarterback situation he attempted early on.

Two of the teams that burned me last week (FSU and Tennessee), looked more like what I expected from them in week one. FSU needed 2 late touchdowns to beat Troy and Tennessee stuffed a 2pt conversion at the end to deny Air Force a huge upset.

Cal and Miami, the two teams Tennessee and FSU beat, blasted their oppenents this week looking more like what was expected from them also.

4. kvapster - September 10, 2006

this year I’m off to a pretty good start.

5. j-dub - September 11, 2006

4-6 on the early season. I need to do better.


Leave a Reply

