jump to navigation

2006 World Series October 21, 2006

Posted by j-dub in Pro Baseball, Sports.
trackback

St Louis Cardinals vs Detroit Tigers

A third meeting of these teams in the world series (1934, 1968). The Cards won in 34′ and the Tigers in 68′.

I want the Cardinals to win the series, but they are banged up and I’m not sure if their outstanding pitching performance in the NLCS will carry over to the Series.

I also think Detroit is a team of destiny, two years removed from a 119 loss season (1 away from a MLB record), and with the way they played this year they reminded me of the Red Sox in 04′ and the White Sox of 05′. I’m not sure there is any team that can stop them.

My heart predicts the Cardinals in 6.

My brain predicts the Tigers in 6.

Sports will often tug at your heart, even when it comes to making picks, bets, predictions, etc.

This time, I’m going with my brain….and hoping my brain is wrong….

PS: In case you couldn’t tell; that IS a Tigers pick in 6, but deep down, I’m hoping I’m wrong….

Comments»

1. j-dub - October 22, 2006

Series is 1-1, and headed to STL for games 3,4, and 5.

Carpenter and Suppan will pitch the first two in STL.

Advantage, Redbirds as we head to St. Louis.


Leave a Reply

