jump to navigation

MLB Hot Stove: Edition #1 November 13, 2006

Posted by j-dub in Pro Baseball, Sports.
trackback

Well, the Cubbies resigned Aramis Ramirez to a 5-yr deal worth $73 million and they also resigned Kerry Wood to a 1 year deal worth $1.75 million with bonuses that could make it worth $6 million.

Here’s the full article. 

Personally, I think Ramirez is one of the least clutch players in the NL.  He’s the A-Rod of the national league in my eyes.  He hits all sorts of home runs when it doesn’t matter, but strikes out when it does matter.  That said, the guy is a good player and I wouldn’t mind having him on my team.   Another thing that bothers me is that he can get real lazy at times.  I’m sure Pinella will like that.

Wood mystifies me.  I’m surprised the Cubs didn’t give him more of a base salary.  They’ve had Kerry Wood fever for so many years now, I’m surprised they didn’t pony up more money.  Even though I don’t like this signing, I think they should trade him while he’s got some value left, it might work out IF he stays healthy and IF he actually pitches out of the bullpen.  Good relievers are consistent and Kerry Wood is anything but that, so we’ll see how well he pans out in the bullpen.

Let me know what you think about these signings….

Comments»

1. Ol' Guy - November 13, 2006

re: Wood; It’s easier to trade a player if you have him signed. And other teams will look quicker at a pitcher with a 1-year $1.75 mill salary than one with a 5-year $12-15 mill salary. I think it’s a good first step. Now if they’ll take the second step…

2. j-dub - November 13, 2006

Good point. I never thought about it from that angle. I don’t think the Cubs will ever trade him. They’ve been in love with this guy for 3 years too long in my opinion.


Leave a Reply

