jump to navigation

Monday Night Football November 13, 2006

Posted by j-dub in Pro Football, Sports.
trackback

Does MNF even interest anybody these days?

I don’t think so.  I’m not sure if the ratings agree with me, but I think they might.

The network doesn’t matter, the broadcast team doesn’t matter, and I’m beginning to wonder if the teams playing the game even matter.

They switched things from ABC to ESPN this year, and I can honestly say I haven’t watched a complete MNF game so far this season.  Most of the games have sucked, but hopefully with the flex schedule coming up, they’ll get better.

Here are my possible reasons for the lack of interest:

  • The start time is too late – an 8PM start time in the midwest is way too late for a 3 hour football game.  This is obviously geared towards the eastern time zones, and that is a shame.
  • Football overload – Yes, I believe there is so much emphasis on College Football Saturday and NFL Sunday that Monday people want a break from football.
  • ESPN – Why stay up past your bedtime for a usually non-interesting, non-meaningful game when you can watch the 1 minute worth of highlights the next morning?

Why do you think MNF is such a non-factor these days?

Comments»

1. Anonymous - November 15, 2006

J,
With MNF on ABC it was great, but I have a basic (does not include ESPN) cable package because I don’t need the kids watching a bunch of MTV, etc crap out there. As a result, since the move to ESPN I have found I don’t miss it one bit, and instead get geared for SNF!

2. j-dub - November 17, 2006

Anon,

Sorry, your post got stuck in moderation.

Yeah, I like SNF also. I find it hard to believe that MNF was worth what ESPN paid to get it. I like Mike Tirico for ESPN, and I like Madden on ABC. Maybe they could put a better team together and it would be more watchable.


Leave a Reply

